• An Image Slideshow
  • An Image Slideshow
Wooden Churches

Beskydy is a mass of mountains that stretches to form an arc on the territory of the Czech Republic, Poland and Slovakia from Moravská Brána (Moravian Gate) to Kurovské sedlo (Kurovské saddle). In the Czech Republic you will find Moravskoslezské (Moravian-Silesian) and Slezské (Silesian) Beskydy, in Slovakia Beskydy mountains are titled Kysucké, Oravské and Nízké Beskydy and in Poland we know nine mountainous blocks named Beskid.

The Beskydy landscape has had the power to enchant people with its picturesque beauty since the time out of mind. The first inhabitants, as the archaeology unveiled, were dwelling here already in the Old Stone Age. They were coming to these places for ages in order to settle here and create a community of people with characteristic culture and folk customs that have been preserved until today. The extensive region of Beskydy has got plenty of forms, ranging from deep forests, steep hills and wild natural sceneries up to urban landscapes of Frenštát, Rožnov pod Radhoštěm or Frýdlant nad Ostravicí.

The first historical mentions about the settlement places in Beskydy are usually associated with the construction of religious objects, chapels and castles. Let?s go and have a look at these picturesque constructions that were left to us by our ancestors. Let?s examine this extraordinary set of churches built by the hands of folk wood carvers and architects from the best available construction material, i.e. wood.

Wooden churches in Beskydy constitute a part of a unique set of sacral folk constructions. This set of wooden churches built in the course of five centuries is with regard to the concentration, variability and good state of preservation of individual constructions considered absolutely unique in Central Europe.

The typology of the Central European wooden churches is associated with bricked churches. Single-aisle type of church is predominant, but exceptionally we can encounter also three aisles (Polish Mogila). When talking about the structures of the churches, the oldest one was probably the palar structure. Another technique was the grooved structure with wooden panelling and mesh.

These techniques are followed by traditional technique of timbering or logging, which survived more or less until today. Another important structure that came to the Central European region from the West was so-called Western frame. Its principle consists in frame structure with panelling inserted to the beam thickness. In 16th century the churches are enriched with a porch along their perimeter that protected the beams of the church walls against rotting and concurrently it also protected parishioners against unfavourable weather. The ceilings of the wooden churches are usually flat, with filler blocks, but we can encounter also characteristic arch imitations (Hervartov, Gůty). Roof timbers were also an important structure. The oldest and the simplest type of roof timberwork is the so-called ridge purlin. A new type of roof timberwork appears in gothic period, i.e. collar beam roof. A new type of roof timberwork called studded timberwork appeared in the 16th and especially in the 17th century, which survived until 19th century. The towers of the wooden churches appear in the 16th century, by that time their function was substituted by individual standing belfries. The towers are not logged and therefore they have a lightweight, static and economical structure that resists well to the wind. Architectonic form responds to the contemporary period-style architecture, though usually with substantial delay. Especially those elements are received that can be easily transformed with carpenter?s tooling into the wooden material.

The typology of portals with medieval churches in Central Europe includes almost all the types known from the bricked architecture (keel arch, saddle portal, canopy arch, lancet arch, rectangular) especially in the neighbouring Poland. The exterior of the wooden churches is very simple and modest. The situation in the interior of the churches is considerably different, as it is the most representative part of the church. The flourishing era of wooden churches was in the 16th and especially in the 17th century thanks to the Protestants. The most complicated churches were born in hands of trained architects and under supervision of relevant lords of the manor. The most progressive features taken over from the period-style architecture appear especially in these churches within the wooden architecture.


Therefore Beskydy mountains are a real fairytale paradise not only for the wood carvers. There is no other place with such concentration of wooden constructions. These wooden religious constructions, churches, chapels and belfries are completely exceptional and today unique constructions. A visit to Beskydy mountains will allow you to see with your own eyes these unique constructions and make yourselves acquainted with the heritage of folk constructors, carpenters, wood carvers and painters, which they left to further generations.

Kostel Panny Marie, pomocnice křesťanů (Church of the Virgin Mary, helper of the Christians)

49°29?20.13?,18°29?3.7? google maps

Site Gruň

History In 1886 the Archpriest of Frýdek and Dean P. Karel Findinski obtained a permit to fall trees in Gruň for construction of the church of Gruň and stone foundations were laid one year later. The architectonical design was elaborated by the constructor of Frýdek Heinrich and the construction was supervised by the carpenter master of Frýdek Stanislav Pětroš. The construction took place from 1890 to 1891. Both bells were delivered by Hilcer company from Vienna. The bells were consecrated to Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Filip on 1st October 1891 by the priest of Frýdek, prince-bishop commissar Karel Findinski. The altar and pulpit was carved by Gavlas of Sedliště and it was gold plated by a well known gold-plater of Frýdek Menšík. The altar annex contains a picture of the Virgin Mary, helper of the Christians painted by Frýdek painter Vašek. In the central recess of the altar there is a sculpture of the Good Shepard carved by Riefeser, a wood carver from Tyrolean Gröden. Beside there are sculptures of St. Filip and St. Jan Nepomucký. The church was consecrated on 11th October 1891 and the first mass was celebrated there by local priest P. Antonín Nogol.

Masses Regularly in July and August

Contact Roman Catholic Parish Office Ostravice

Access You can get to the Church of the Virgin Mary from Staré Hamry, bridge or Staré Hamry, fork to Černá, from where you follow the blue tourist mark that connects to the yellow one.

Arrival is permitted all the way to the place (parking lot in Gruň)

GPS: 49°29'20.13"N,18°29'3.7"E


Kaple svatého Cyrila a Metoděje (Chapel of St. Cyril and Metoděj) at the Cyrilka river head

49°30?44.73?,18°20?16.06? google maps

Site Čeladná

History Rather a small wooden chapel composed of beams with overlapping heads, coloured and topped with significant pyramid roof. At first sight it attracts with its pseudo-folk tone and features that are not typical for local folk architecture ? it reminds of a miniature imitation of Jurkovič?s construction at Pustevny. Ornamental elements with painting at the beam end and around the doors and windows are completed with restored mosaic located in rock niche of the second small construction that is the bower over the Cyrilka river head. Both constructions originated in 1936 according to the design of Mr. Roska from Kroměříž. In the chapel there is a body of Crucified Christ, over the riverhead there is a dominating mosaic with St. Cyril holding the Church model.

Access You will get to the Chapel of St. Cyril and Metoděj from Čeladná in the direction to Podolánky approximately kilometre from the golf course on the left side before turning to Smrk.

GPS: 49°30'44.73"N,18°20'16.06"E


Kostel Povýšení svatého Kříže (St. Cross Dignity Church)

49°25?1.405?, 18°22?14.921? google maps

Site Bystřice nad Olší



St. Cross Dignity Church was built at the turn of 19th and 20th century, probably in 1897. In the second half of 16th century we also could find a church here, which however dilapidated and a new one was built in its place. This small church belongs to the most charming ones in the entire Northern Moravia and Silesia. It was further made even nicer in recent years by replacement of the metal pyramid roof of the tower. It was covered with wooden shingles, which harmonizes with the entire construction much more. Rectangular windows are ornamented with carved wooden bars. There is a wooden cross to the left from the entrance and a written document right beside the entrance reminding with its contents and style the declaration of one of the last princes of the Těšín branch of Piastovci, which is a memento of the time of origination of original wooden church in this place.

Masses The masses are held each Wednesday at 15:15 o´clock

Contact Roman Catholic Parish Office Vendryně , tel. 558 350 230

Access You will get to the St. Cross Dignity Church from Frýdek-Místek across Dobrá, Hnojník in the direction to Třinec. Approximately 7 km behind Třinec there is a turning to Bystřice.

GPS 49°25'1.405"N, 18°22'14.921"E

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 Next > End >>

Page 4 of 4
© Region Beskydy, všechna práva vyhrazena
vytvořeno eABM s.r.o.
  • Čeština (Česká republika)
  • English (United Kingdom)
  • Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)
  • Polish (Poland)